Mar. 22, 2004, Electronic Arts, Inc., donates $8 million to fund new curriculum, facilities and an endowed chair for the Interactive Media Division.


Oct. 1, 2005, hundreds of "Starkies" flock to USC to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Peter Stark Producing Program.

Associate Professor Kenneth Hall, holder of the Ken Wannberg Endowed Chair in Music Editing, carries his chair from Norris Theatre after the Oct. 24, 2005 ceremony that seated eight new endowed positions.


July 2006, thatgamecompany, founded by Interactive Media Alumni Kellee Santiago and Jenova Chen (M.F.A. class of 2006), signs a three-game deal with Sony Computer Entertainment America to develop downloadable games for PS3.

Apr. 21, 2006, the school announces the official naming of the John C. Hench Division of Animation & Digital Arts, created by a $5 million donation in honor of the legendary Disney animation artist.

Sept. 20, 2006, SCA signs a historic agreement with Jordan to assist in the creation of the Red Sea Institute of Cinematic Arts (RSICA), which will enroll men and women from the Middle East region in a specialized learning environment dedicated to teaching all disciplines of the cinematic arts.

USC celebrates the inaguration of the School of Cinematic Arts, with groundbreaking ceremonies for the new complex on Oct. 4, 2006.


Director and alumnus Robert Zemeckis teaches performance capture techniques to SCA students during the spring 2007 semester.

The Women of Cinematic Arts group brings current students, recent alumni, faculty and other interested members face-to-face with successful professionals working in the industry who shared their experience, and insight during the May 5, 2007 "Reel Talk" at the Zemeckis Center for Digital Arts.

Launched in the fall of 2007, the interdivisional Media Arts & Practice program (iMAP) is the second Ph.D. track offered by the school.


January 2008, construction on the 137,000-square-foot central complex proceeds rapidly. Students and faculty are scheduled to move into the new structure in December.

Darfur Now, written and directed by Writing Division Assistant Professor Ted Braun and produced by Production Division Distinguished Professor Mark Harris, wins the NAACP Image Award for outstanding documentary of 2007 at the 39th annual awards ceremony at the Shrine Auditorium on Feb. 14, 2008.